If you are an employer or parent of a teen in Florida, then you should make sure to read and understand the hour restrictions for teen employees. Most teenagers start looking for their first job around the age of 16, so knowing the law for this age is a good place to start.
The Florida Senate does not that hour restrictions for 16-year-old employees do not apply for family-owned businesses. In addition, the superintendent of your teen's school can waive the restrictions if your family has financial hardship reasons for the teen to work. Also, if you teen graduates, the rules do not apply to him or her.
A work day for a teen can only be eight hours in length. A teen cannot work over eight hours in one 24-hour period, and he or she cannot work more than four hours without a 30-minute break. Your child may also only work 30 hours per week during the school year and no more than six days in a row.
The actual hours a teen may work during the school week are from 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. Specifically, your child may not work more than eight hours or outside those hours on a day when he or she has school the next day. So, hours for Friday and Saturday may differ. In addition, your teen cannot work during school hours when school is in session. This applies even if your child is no longer in school due to dropping out. This information is for education and is not legal advice.